I Feel Powerless…

Image Courtesy of http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/

 On Today’s Saturday Stillness I am going to suggest something a little different.

Every Saturday, I encourage you to take the day to spend time in prayer with God, spend time with your family and avoid the distractions of the world (such as tv, email, work, etc.)
For today’s Saturday Stillness, I want to talk about something a little different.
Do you feel powerless?
As in, do you feel as if you have no power in your ability to control your life? Do you feel as if God is not moving in your life and like you’re just running around circles…listening to your heart and not getting any wiser or experiencing any better results?
Sometimes I feel like that. 
There are moments when I feel as if I am not being a strong Christian or like I am not experiencing victory, His presence, or hearing His voice.
But one night, while talking to God-I realized that I wasn’t spending much time using the power that He provides to me, I wasn’t challenging myself and attempting to follow His will, and I wasn’t depending on His power to give me the strength and power to behave the way He would want me to behave towards others. 

I was spending an awful lot of time relying on my own “inner power” to have the strength to be loving towards others, patient when problems arise, and strong enough to handle difficult situations. I wasn’t asking for God to help me be loving towards people who make it difficult to love them, I wasn’t spending quality time in devotion with the Lord…I was doing devotions but I wasn’t really spending time allowing God to speak to me and change my heart…and so it would explain why I felt so powerless.
We gain power and we feel powerful when we choose to depend on Christ to be obedient. 

When we choose to rely on our own thoughts or favorite quotes to help us decide what we should do, we won’t feel powerful and in control of our lives. It’s weird to think that obedience actually brings us the feeling of power and joy-but it really does and I know this for myself personally.
So for today’s “Saturday Stillness”, I encourage you to do the hard thing. Love someone who is being mean towards you-turn the other cheek rather than hold a grudge. When you’re tempted to yell at the driver who cut you off-stop and think. Ask God to help you stay calm and say a prayer for the person that did that, that they will be safe as they drive and ask God to continue to protect you as you drive. 
Rely on God’s power to give you the strength to do the hard thing…it’s not easy but it is possible. 
“With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible”
Matthew 19:26

“I can do all things through Him who strengthens me”
Philippians 4:13

“If possible, so far as it depends on you, be at peace with all men”
Romans 12:18

“Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good” 
Romans 12:21

“Let love be without hypocrisy. Abhor (hate) what is evil; cling to what is good”
Romans 12:9

With God’s Grace, Love, and Comfort…
Linked With:

What Are Your Thoughts?

