I Don’t Need Saving

 Today we have a post from one of our blog writers Lunelle Bertresse! I found this to be such an encouraging post and I hope that it encourages you as well!!

 One day I was surfing on the great waters of Pinterest.com. I had my head leaning into one hand. No recipe-craving; no meme-laughing; no outfit-desiring- just surfing. I stumbled upon a quote that caused me to sit up straight in my chair, square my shoulders, and nod whilst shouting, “That’s right, girl! I agree!”.
The quote read, “I’m not a princess. I don’t need saving. I am a queen; I got this handled.” I quickly wrote it out on a sticky note and promptly put it on my desk, where I could see it.
I am the dean to 45 teenage girls at an academy. This job/ lifestyle comes with ups and downs, of course, and I love it. However, there are times where I don’t feel strong. Times where I feel like I need to be saved by something. Times where I don’t feel like getting out of bed. So, one could understand why that quote gave me this shot of energy!
I read it and felt this burst of confidence! I don’t need to be saved by anyone or anything. I can do bad all by myself! I want all the haters to go to the left! Get out of my way- woman of pure power coming through!
I was on this high of confidence, then it happened- my bubble of joy popped. A voice started speaking in my head saying that the quote wasn’t true or at least needed some major editing. I argued back and forth. Finally I gave in and listened to what this voice was saying.
It said, “No. You are MY princess. I died on the cross to save you and I am so happy I did. As a matter of fact, I love it when you allow me to save you. Of course, you can handle it, but I want to be there to give you that strength you need.”
*Silence* I said, “Oh, hey there Holy Spirit. How you doing? Everything alright? Great. Thanks for putting me in check. ” The proverbial tail was between my legs. The Holy Spirit was right!
Sometimes, as a single adult, I find myself trying to do it all. Why?
Maybe it’s to put up a wall to protect myself from becoming vulnerable.
Maybe I want to tell the world that I can do this without a companion.
Both are issues I need to resolve, but when all is said and done, I- no, we- must remember we serve a living God who lives to come down and save his princesses and princes.
-Lunelle Bertresse

Linked On:

Womanhoodwithpurpose

2 thoughts on “I Don’t Need Saving

  1. Great Post!!!!!!!! Thanks for the reminder Lunelle that I am His princess and though I may think I can do it all on my own I don't have to. His strength is perfect!

What Are Your Thoughts?

