The Secret Behind Air Fresheners

Image Courtesy of [Stuart Miles]/http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

Image Courtesy of [Stuart Miles]/http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

Have you ever thought about the amount of chemicals that we use on a daily basis? Do you ever wonder what are the effects of those chemicals?

Recently, I was using a can of aerosol spray and I stopped to think about what exactly I was spraying in the air.

Are the chemicals in this can of spray going to affect my skin? What about my breathing since I’m inhaling it? Could it cause my nervous system to overreact or even affect my hormones and brain functioning?

So I went to go and do some research and I found this article called, “Health Risks of Air Fresheners” and I found it to be very interesting.

I encourage you to take a look at it for yourself but here are some of the statements that stood out to me:

“Air fresheners are not regulated by the government and manufacturers are not required to list ingredients on their labels.

Many air fresheners contain para-dichlorobenzene, napthalend and formaldehyde, all of which are central nervous system depressants…formaldehyde can cause a variety of symptoms, such as headaches, ear infections, sinus problems, watery eyes, asthma, bronchitis, joint pains, chronic fatigue syndrome, dizziness and chest pain. It has also been proven to cause cancer in animals.

Lysol Anti-Bacterial Action Spray… contains alkyl dimethyl benzyl ammonium chloride, a pesticide.

Long-term repeated exposure can cause kidney damage.”

When I saw how all of those issues could be a result from using air sprays, I immediately started thinking about ways that I can make my home and office smell lovely without the use of chemicals…here are a few natural tips!

1. Use Baking Soda Baking soda is EXCELLENT to use for vacuuming up odors as well as for dealing with pet smells in the litter box

2. Use incense Growing up my mother often burned incense in the house and it always smelled lovely. This is also a really affordable option as well, just be sure that you remember to not leaving burning when you’re not in the house or room

3. Essential Oils Oils such as lavender or peppermint smell great and when you mix a little bit in a spray bottle with water, you can have your own little “can” of air spray that’s healthier for you

4. Potpourri Another wonderful option is using potpourri around the house. This can not only smell good, it also looks really pretty when used right

5. Candles Scented candles can also be a great option, again just be sure that you don’t leave it unattended and keep it away from children and pets.

6. Make Your Own Febreeze Check out this recipe on my pinterest to create your own Febreeze to make your couches, pillows, and bed smell nicer!

Also for more tips like these, follow my “homemaking/lifestyle” or my “how-to” Pinterest boards where I post great tips like these!

What are some natural ways that you try to keep your space smelling fresh?

2 thoughts on “The Secret Behind Air Fresheners

  1. Howdy! This post could not be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this post to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

What Are Your Thoughts?

