The Secret To Keeping Your Resolutions!

Image Courtesy of [stockimages]/http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

Image Courtesy of [stockimages]/http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

 At the beginning of the year, I’m sure you thought this year was gonna be different-you were going to stick to your resolutions…but as February creeps up onto us, you may be feeling like this year won’t actually be different cause you’ve already abandoned your resolution.

But this year can be different!

It is possible to keep your resolutions throughout the ENTIRE year-I know because I have certainly done it for many years. I may not actively pursue it every single day but throughout the year I am taking moments to stop and contemplate the resolutions I made, and remembering why I wanted to do them so I can stay motivated to continue.

I really like setting up resolutions for myself because (1) I am very goal-orientated so I enjoy watching my progress and (2) I think it’s fun to continue to grow and adapt as a person.
In 2012 one of my resolutions was to learn how to be more forgiving towards others and although I don’t think this is a resolution that can be changed within a year, I can definitely say that I am not in the same place that I was when I first resolved to do this resolution in January 2012.
Throughout the year, I actively studied on how to deal with my feelings and how to let go and truly forgive and it has made me a happier person. Is it an easy process? I can’t say it always is but I can definitely say that it is very rewarding.

This year, I am planning to continue to pursue that resolution and my resolution for 2013 is to learn to not live in regret. Regret can cause tons of anxiety and it’s a waste of an emotion since I can’t really do anything to change the past.

Whatever your resolutions are, I want to help you stay on task through a few suggestions…

  • Limit your amount of resolutions: Try to avoid listing more than 5 resolutions-and 5 is really pushing it. When you limit your resolutions you’ll be more likely to stick to it and give your all to truly keeping them
  • Break it down: Instead of just saying, “I want to lose weight”, write what you are going to do week by week in order to meet that goal. Are you going to sleep 7 hours a night? Are you going to replace your chocolate cravings with fruits and vegetables instead? Set goals and write them down on a calendar so you actually do them
  • Set weekly goals: Each week choose to do something-anything to reach your goal. For example, using the weight resolution, you can set a goal that this week you are going to work out at least 120 minutes this week (which works out to being less than 20 minutes every day)
  • Re-evaluate once a month: To stay motivated, assess your resolution each month. Ask yourself, why are you doing this/what is motivating you? Are you actually doing what you need to do to reach your goals? What can you do differently? Choose a day each month where you’ll look over your resolutions and if you’ve not been successful this month-well there’s always next month! #KeepTrying!
  • Be Accountable: Don’t do it alone! Have someone ask you how you’re coming along or even ask a friend to do your resolution with you.

How are your resolutions coming along? Have you abandoned them yet? What were they? Let me know in the comments below!

Check out my video as well!

What Are Your Thoughts?

