Why Valentine’s Day Is My Favorite Holiday!

Image Courtesy of [ambro]/http://freedigitalphotos.net

Image Courtesy of [ambro]/http://freedigitalphotos.net

For some reason, some people tend to believe the lie that February 14th is only for the couples of the world.
That only couples have the right to enjoy valentine’s day and that every person who is single should spend the day crying, throwing pity parties, and feeling generally miserable.

I’ll be the first one to tell you that that is a LIE.

Growing up Valentine’s Day in my household was the equivalent of Christmas. It was all about sharing the day with our family, giving gifts, buying cards for one another, eating good food, and generally taking an entire day to say, “I love you” without it feeling weird. 🙂

As an adult, I now see just how special my parents were for coming up with this idea of treating Valentine’s Day as a day love-which is exactly what it is. My mother would always surprise us with wonderful gifts or events each year-and even after I grew up and moved out-my mother would still drive up to see me. Or my father and brother would come to my school and take me out and I truly just grew to appreciate valentine’s day.

I even enjoyed it MORE if I was single because it meant my family would do even more! 🙂 (No guy could ever give me all the stuff my family would on Vday! LOL I promise I’m not materialistic though!! lol)

So let’s change the tide!

This Valentine’s do something special for your best friend, buy a gift for your loved ones. Send a card to your parents, write a note of appreciation to your mail man, buy dinner for your roommates.

And if you’re going to be spending it alone-then take yourself out to the movies, go go-karting or do SOMETHING special that you would truly enjoy! Treat yourself!

I wish you all a wonderful and HAPPY Valentine’s Day!

So what’s YOUR favorite holiday? Let me know down below!

What Are Your Thoughts?

