The Everlasting Gift

The festive music has ceased and the tree has finally come down. All the excitement from the holiday season has dwindled. The toys and gadgets that were given this past Christmas will soon be a passing fad. Suddenly, I began to think about the preparation of the next Christmas season and how the events could be better than the last. What could I give to make my children happier? In what ways could I accomplish this task?

Although my children were satisfied, I felt compelled to do more. However, my priorities were misguided. For me, being a single parent presents the tendency to fill voids where I think there is a lack. Yet, no toy or new electronic device could ever compensate for what they truly need. While it is a warm feeling to see their faces light up when presents are opened, this should not be their main source of happiness. I realized the greatest gift I could give was my love and full attention. This gift is valuable, unforgettable, affordable, and lasts a lifetime.  The best part is that they will not have to wait until next December to receive it.

The new year is in progress and my perspective of happiness has changed. I also pray that my love towards them is a great reflection of the love God has towards His children. I encourage you to give the give of love and draw your children closer to God. Allow God to fill in the missing gaps instead of substituting them with material things. Help them to experience His love through your example, it is an everlasting gift!

“I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with loving-kindness.” Jeremiah 31:3 (NIV)

Be Blessed,

Detra

Photo Courtesy of [David Castillo Dominici]/http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/agree-terms.php?id=10062147

What Are Your Thoughts?

